previous arrow
next arrow

What is the IB Diploma Programme?

The Diploma Programme (DP) is a rigorous and balanced two-year course for ages 16-19. It is rigorous because of its emphasis on depth as well as breadth, as each subject is externally assessed by international moderators. The programme is balanced as subjects are chosen from six mandatory subject groupings, as well as the IB DP Core Elements of writing an Extended Essay, participating in a Theory of Knowledge philosophy class (TOK), and engaging in activities and projects revolving around creativity, action and service (CAS).
What subjects do DP students take?

The Diploma Programme allows learners to choose subjects from each of the following subject groups:

Group 1: Language (Mother Tongue Language/Best Language)
Group 2: Second Language
Group 3: Individuals and Societies
Group 4: Sciences
Group 5: Mathematics
Group 6: The Arts (Group is optional, allowing learners to choose an additional subject from group 1-5)

Higher versus Standard Level

  • All subjects (apart from Language ab initio, ESS and mathematical studies) are offered at Higher and Standard level.
  • A minimum of three Higher Level and three Standard Level subjects must be taken
  • Higher level means more knowledge to be gained, more and/or longer examinations and a higher level of study.
  • Four Higher and two Standard Level subjects can be taken Examinations:
  • Assessment in the IBDP is both internally marked as well as externally. The written examinations at the end of the DP form the foundation of the assessment in the programme. It aims to be objective and reliable and is externally moderated, directly by the IB.
  • The  IBDP is a two-year programme, with examinations being set for May of the second year.
Download IBDP Brochure
Download the IBDP Overview
Download the IBDP FAQ
Download the IBDP University Index
Download the IBDP Programme & Cambridge A Levels Flyer


The University of Cambridge is one of the most distinguished universities in the world. Apart from its rich and rigorous existence as a university, its influence has been felt around the world for generations with its upper secondary programmes.

The Cambridge A Levels, or The Advanced Level, is the gold standard of the Cambridge International Examination qualifications. It is recognised and accepted by numerous universities around the world and particularly well received by universities of the European Union.

Subjects are offered by the Cambridge A Levels

A Level students choose four subjects in their first year of the programme and drop to three in the second. These are the three that are formally and externally examined at the end of the second year in April-May. Students can choose from the following four subject areas:

  • Sciences
  • Math
  • Social Studies
  • English

*Specific individual subjects within these subject areas will depend upon specific teacher’s choices and student need.*

The subject content of the A Levels syllabuses has been divided into two parts: the AS syllabus, which is to be covered in the first half of the programme, and part two of the syllabus, commonly referred to as A2’. This open approach enables students at AIS to choose from the following two options:

  1. Take all A Levels requirements in the same examination session at the end of a course of study, usually at the end of the second year (Year 13).
  2. Take the AS qualification only – either at the end of a one-year or two-year course In alignment with the external standards.

Cambridge examinations at AIS will officially be proctored during April-May testing seasons, and there are no makeup examinations until the following season. These examination periods will follow the strict codes of conduct expected from Cambridge schools and will be aligned with their timetables, timelines, and time regulations. There are six passing grades within the Cambridge examinations, A* – E, and all grades are marked and determined externally by Cambridge.

download Cambridge A Levels brochure



No event found!
Load More